A Perfect Marriage


Is there or will there ever be a more perfect marriage than peanut butter and chocolate?

What, you thought this blog was going to be about actual marriage?? Sorry!

I have loved peanut butter and chocolate since I was a kid. I don’t care what it is, if it has the combination of these two ingredients I will make it, buy it, eat it or drink it. I can’t even begin to wrap my mind around the idea that people don’t LIKE this combination – yeah I’ve heard about you people and I probably wouldn’t trust you as far as I could throw you. (Just kidding. Kind of)

This morning at Life Group, a certain someone (who shall remain nameless) was talking about a peanut butter and chocolate frappuccino she had gotten at a local coffee house. It got me thinking – and remembering – a recipe I’d seen earlier this month for Peanut Butter Cup cupcakes.

Can you say YUM?

Now, I love my Life Group girls…I really do. But they are all so health conscious that my preconceived ideas of baking them yummy breakfast treats every week has had to be vastly modified. I’ll admit it’s been more fun that I thought it would be to create and research healthy muffin recipes. I have found some really delicious recipes online, modified current recipes I use and am basically supporting the Fage greek yogurt company single handedly.

But sometimes I really just want to bake something delicious and UNhealthy. I can’t help it. But we can’t have 24 cupcakes sitting around our house – I just end up throwing most of them away and I feel bad about that. You see what a dilemma I was in here? And then I remembered with great joy that my husband co leads a life group on Wednesday nights for high school students. JACKPOT. Now I have a reason to bake!

Enter this recipe – from one of my favorite baking blogs: My Baking Addiction

Just an FYI – these cupcakes are pretty ugly when you pull them out of the oven. If you’re used to baking a nicely domed cupcake, these will make you want to cry. I mean, if you’re dramatic. Which I’m not. Or hormonal. Which I’m also not.

But do not fear! The small sinkhole in the top is because of the peanut butter cup, so just come to terms with it and remember that you are going to pipe loads of peanut butter buttercream frosting on top and no one will know the difference.

All packed up and ready to go (trying out my new cupcake boxes!!)

Good, right??

(You can tell me you don’t like peanut butter and chocolate all you want to. I’ll never, ever believe you…)
PS – I think it’s pretty clear I need a new camera.

2 thoughts on “A Perfect Marriage”

  1. I was in the process of leaving a comment. It said something along the lines of, “How much for a dozen??? Seriously, I want to order some.”. {This was last night.} And then I remembered my diabeetus class this morning. I think a tear dropped for every key that was deleted.

Leave a Reply

