Three Point Turn


When I was in High School, I took drivers ed from a crazy teacher who used to pound the windows of the car with his fist and yell. Not in a mean way though, he just enjoyed over exaggerating the scary driving techniques of his teenage students. At least, I think that’s why…

Anyway, in Vermont there is a driving technique called the Three Point Turn that you have to master to pass your exam. I didn’t realize this wasn’t a requirement everywhere, but I guess it’s not.

To understand this blog fully – you have to waste a few minutes of your life and watch this very informative and VERY serious video on the three point turn:

PS – when I DID this on my driving exam, I had to back up the car onto a side street for the 2nd part of the turn. I backed up on the WRONG SIDE OF THE ROAD. I got so flustered, I couldn’t remember which side I should be on. I *AM* naturally blonde, and this is just proof. I passed my drivers exam by 1 point. I also parallel parked incorrectly (something about I could have run over a 2 year old and wouldn’t have known…) and hesitated waaay too long before pulling out into traffic. Wish I could say the same about myself now!

Anyway, now that I am 35 weeks pregnant I have realized that rolling over in bed is the three point turn. I am the car, and the bed is the road. Get my drift? It is beyond obnoxious because I still get up to use the bathroom about every hour and a half, and it takes 3 times as long as it should to simply get out of bed. When you see pictures of pregnant woman, they are always glowing and gazing adoringly at their bellies. No one shows the real stuff, like when you have to practically propel yourself out of bed with a three point turn and arms moving in a windmill motion. Or what about having to dive over the body pillow to get in/out of bed? I can’t even begin to tell you guys how many times I’ve socked Todd in the face during the night because I can’t roll over smoothly, quietly OR quickly.

First I have to perform step 1 of the turn – from side to back. Then I perform step 2 – from back to other side. Then step 3 – roll from side off the bed into standing position. And of course, everything hurts so I’m grumbling and groaning the whole time.

Really, my husband deserves an award for not sleeping upstairs during all this. I would if I were him!

2 thoughts on “Three Point Turn”

  1. This made me LOL this morning because I KNOW. I SO KNOW! I’m what, 8 weeks or so behind you? And I’m already perfecting the 3 point turn. 😦 lol Hi-Larious. This reminds me of when I was pregnant with Joshua, or it could have been Hailey? When I was sitting cross-legged on the floor and my ex husband would push me onto my back and then laugh at me as I was “stuck” like a turtle, struggling to roll back and forth to get up. As soon as I got up, he would push me down again. {Saying he was a jerk is an understatement. LMAO}

Leave a Reply

