Hopes and Dreams…what are yours?


So today marks the start of week 27.  Half of the information I have says this is my 3rd trimester.  Half says it begins at week 28.  Since I think that there is no time like the present to become an overachiever I claim the beginning of trimester three TODAY.

This is mind boggling on so many levels.

I don’t think it comes as a surprise to any (most?) of you by now that finding out we were pregnant was a bit of a shock.  Because we never expected to have a baby – we didn’t talk much about it.  With Beckett’s arrival soon on the way, Todd and I have spent time thinking about, planning for and dreaming of what he will be like.

And with 26 weeks of pregnancy behind us, we have moved out of the shock stage and into the excitement and planning stage.

Well – unless I start remembering the sleepless nights.  And the blowout diapers.  And the constant panic that everything is ok.  And the colic.  And the exhaustion.  And the confusion.

Yikes.  Deep breaths….

Back to the point…Todd asked me to think about what my top 5 priorities were for parenting this little guy.  We talked about things we’ve done in the past and would do differently.  We talked about things we would do the same.  It got me wondering what other people’s answers would be.  Wondering what the difference would be between Moms and Dads.  So – I was hoping you guys would weigh in.  I’m curious to see your answers.  There are no right and wrong answers – I’m just curious.  What are the dreams and hopes you have for your children?  What are the qualities and characteristics you want them to possess?

Here are mine – in no particular order.

I want my sons to love God and love Jesus.

I want them to be men of honor and integrity.

I want them to be respectful and kind to those who are different and who may be unlike them, in whatever way that may be.

I want them to try.  I am not a parent who demands perfection or straight A’s.  But I do hope that my boys will try hard, even if they aren’t the best.

I want them to be content in who they are.  I want them to rest in the knowledge that they are loved and important and that no matter what – they are wanted.

In looking over my list, I suppose I’m a bit of an idealist, and let’s face – a MOM.  But I’m ok with that!

What’s on your list?

4 thoughts on “Hopes and Dreams…what are yours?”

  1. something i pray for for my boys is that they will be good influences on the people around them. that the love they have for Jesus will shine through them. i also pray for their future wives. (which i really hate to think about but it’s a reality!)

    praying for you all!!!

  2. I am with you on the trying part and loving God. I am with Kay on the wives part for my sons and the husband part for my daughter. I hope my sons will grow to be like Eric and that my daughter will find a husband like him (should she want to marry). I hope they are able to make a career doing something they love. I hope for them humility. I hope they experience enough trials and tribulations to give them strength of character but not so much it breaks their spirit. I also hope they will be grateful for the simple blessings in life and not let them pass by unappreciated.

  3. my 2 cents…I always wanted my kids to grow like Jesus did.

    Luke 2:52
    And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man.

Leave a Reply

