Happy New Year!


I’ve been slacking on blogging lately, and it’s for no reason other than the holidays kicked my butt this year!  With all the family gatherings, cookie baking, candy making, Asheville trip taking and spider bites we have been super busy.  Sorry for the delayed Happy New Year post but I’m sure you have been as busy as we have.

Obviously 2010 was a huge year for me – I got engaged, married and pregnant.  And it was all in the right order.  Wow – my parents can’t ever say I’m not an overachiever, right??  It was a lot of change – some of it expected and some unexpected but I feel so blessed as I look back at the last year and see the crazy turn my life has taken.  I have met some great new friends, strengthened friendships with not so new friends and seen God’s hand working in so many places and so many lives.  2011 will undoubtedly bring just as many changes, the biggest being a newborn.  I hope I haven’t forgotten how they work.  I’m looking forward to seeing what God is up to in the life of my family in 2011.  I know it’s going to knock my socks off!

I don’t tend to make resolutions but there are a few places I want to focus this year, and things I want to strive to do better.  Todd talked about one of those things on Sunday, and that’s hearing from God.  I don’t consider myself one of those people who “HEARS” God clearly and consistently.  I have to work at it.  And it seems that God speaks to me in subtle ways – I think I can remember a total of 3-4 times in my life that I heard God speaking to me loud and clear.  (One of those times was while sitting in the Next Level Church auditorium not long after Todd and I started dating – it was how I knew he was going to marry me one day!)  So, one focus of mine for 2011 will be to continue to pursue God and to ask Him to help me hear better.  To listen more intently, and to pursue Him relentlessly.

What is something you’ll be focusing on this year?

And, since it’s been awhile – some pregnancy updates for you guys!

How far along? 22 weeks today!  18ish weeks left?  AHHH!

Total weight gain: UGH.  Let’s skip it.

How am I feeling? Really good – Once I ended week 18 my energy level came back, my nausea and dry heaving subsided and I feel great.

Maternity clothes? Yes – pants definitely.  Still can work with my shirts!

Sleep: Not sleeping the best which seems to be a theme of this pregnancy.  I’m already uncomfortable which can’t be a good sign for the next 18 weeks…

Movement: Yes – this baby is a night owl and gets a little crazy in there late at night.  That also doesn’t help the sleep routine.

Gender: Little man

Belly Button in or out? In

What I miss: Being able to lean over without grunting.  Hahaha.  Something keeps getting in the way!

What I am looking forward to:  Meeting this baby, obviously!

Cravings?  Cherries, still – which can be tricky this time of year.  Luckily I have good friends who text me when they see cherries at local grocery stores.  Hahaha.  And, lately – anything sweet and unhealthy.  I blame Christmas.  Long gone are my cravings of berries, clementines and avocado – these days we’re looking at ice cream, cookies and Reese’s.  Now you know why I won’t tell you what the scale says.

Leave a Reply

