Slow To Speak…


This past weekend at Next Level Church, Todd talked about living a God centered life. I have thought about this a lot over the past few days, weighing out what this means for me, what changes I need to make and how I need to push myself out of my comfort zones.

This morning when I opened up Facebook, one of my friends had posted the following verse from James 1:19-20:

Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Human anger does not produce the righteousness God desires.

Here’s a dirty little secret about me – I have a little bit of a temper. Maybe it’s the Yankee in me, maybe it’s the oldest child in me, maybe it’s because I was born with a little red in my hair…but I know at times I am quicker to speak and quicker to get angry than I should be.

I had to stop and think this morning, “Are the words I use in my life ones that lift others up or tear them down? Am I quick to speak kindly or quick to criticize? Am I quick to understand or quick to find fault?”

The ultimate desire I have for my life is to be a reflection of Christ and His love. But how often am I making that a priority above all my other desires? The desire to be a good wife, and a good mom – the desire to be a fun friend or great cupcake baker – you see where I’m going with this? How many hours a day or week do I spend on those desires? To live a truly God centered life, I know that I have to check in with myself often and take inventory of my desires on a consistent basis.

I believe God puts desires in our hearts for a good reason. I believe He wants to give us our heart’s desires when and if the time is right. I also believe that if we make living a God centered life our greatest desire, the rest will align themselves and be just where and what they need to be. To summarize what we talked about this Sunday, here is a quick little reminder. I’ve written it down so I can look at it often and remind myself what I am striving for.

-Instead of arguments have perseverance and gentleness.
-Instead of jealousy have righteousness and godliness.
-Instead of an obsession with money have faith and love

So this week I challenge you to make an effort to be slow to speak and slow to anger – make living a God centered life your priority.

1 thought on “Slow To Speak…”

  1. i have that verse taped on the mirror in my bathroom. it’s been there for almost 10 years. you think it would have sunk in by now! but my God’s grace i’m better than i used to be!

Leave a Reply

