Desserts, desserts, desserts…and some baby stuff too!


Happy Thanksgiving week everybody!

It is impossible for me to be in a bad mood this week – I love holidays, I love this time of year and I love baking!  I was outside a few minutes ago running an errand, and although it LOOKS like Thanksgiving, it sure doesn’t feel like it.  I’m seeing updates on Twitter and Facebook from friends who are gazing out their windows at dustings of snow on the ground – and the high today is 76.

But it is supposed to cool down a bit this week, and I think by Thursday it will feel as close to Thanksgiving as Charlotte can feel.

Baking in the oven right now are homemade gingersnaps.  Todd loves gingersnaps – and I mean LOVES – and he really enjoys it when I bake them for him.  The thing is…I loathe making them.  I hate it with the passion of a thousand red hot burning suns.  Gingersnaps are made with molasses, so by default the dough is sticky and wet and gooey.  Your hands get messy and sticky, and then you have to roll those puppies in sugar – so you’re sticky and gooey and grainy and sugary and it’s disgusting.  But, the end result is really tasty and MUCH better than the gingersnaps you buy in the store.

Now before you think I’m sweet and benevolent baking my least favorite thing to bake because my husband loves it…the truth is, I’m actually using half of the homemade gingersnaps for a crust.  The crust will be for MY favorite dessert: PUMPKIN CHEESECAKE.  Yum.  Coincidentally, Todd hates cheesecake.  In any case, I figure it’s a win-win.  He hates cheesecake, I hate making gingersnaps.  This week though, we’ll both get what we want!

In combining Thanksgiving traditions with both of our families, it got me wondering – what are YOUR favorite traditions/dishes/desserts for Thanksgiving?

Also, I have 42,745 billion friends who are pregnant right now (ok a slight exaggeration, but just a slight one…) and a bunch of them are doing this update thing on their blogs.  I thought it was pretty cute so I’m going to start one today – until I start gaining too much weight and don’t feel like divulging that with you.

How far along?  15 weeks and 1 day
Total weight gain:  3-5 lbs depending on if the scale is mad at me or not.
How am I feeling? Still exhausted.  I could nap every. single. day.  The dry heaving and gagging has subsided some, but not completely.  Had to text Todd yesterday to pick up some Tums.  How romantic.
Maternity clothes? Yes!  Love them – found some super cute stuff from an ebay store called Fly Belly.  They are super cute and really comfortable.
Sleep: Not much at night.  I’m restless and I get up every 2 hours to pee.  Plus I have crazy dreams.
Movement: Nothing yet
Gender: No clue.  Trying not to think about it!  I am feeling like it’s a boy, but I had a dream the other night it was a girl.
Belly Button in or out? In
What I miss: Enjoying coffee first thing in the morning – the whole idea of coffee when I wake up is stomach churning to me.
What I am looking forward to: Week 16, which I hear is the magic week for regaining energy!
Milestones: Realizing maternity jeans are the most comfortable things on the planet.  I swear they were not this good 10 years ago when I was pregnant with Logan!

 

9 thoughts on “Desserts, desserts, desserts…and some baby stuff too!”

  1. I have to say my favorite thing to make for Thanksgiving dinner are the apple pies and pumpkin pies. Apple pie has always been one thing that has been at my family’s Thanksgiving dessert table since I was a child – and I use my great grandmother’s recipe (with a slight alteration, I use a low-carb sugar called Whey Low in place of sugar, and I make the pie crust low-carb as well with some whole wheat flour, and also low-fat using Smart Balance). And the homemade pumpkin pie is a new tradition in our home since I got sick of wasting the whole pumpkin from Halloween (we do not carve our pumpkins just so I can use them in pies and other recipes). Plus, homemade is just better than Mrs. Smith’s any day of the week. 🙂 Plus, I also make this low-carb as well (I am the one who needs to eat low-carb/sugar…but thankfully, my family is down with it). 🙂 I love this kind of cooking/baking, because it challenges me to explore old recipes to find new ways to make them taste similar, if not exactly the same, but just a healthier version for me and my family.

    Thanks for the update, Miranda! And once again – congrats on the baby!

  2. Our thanksgiving is Paula Deen approved, which means it’s really healthy 😉 Our fave dessert is her gooey pumpkin butter cake. None of us ever ate pumpkin anything before this dessert. We also love corn casserole and sweet potato casserole. Oh, and I make a copycat version of House of Blues rosemary cornbread for Eric, it’s his must have. Our thanksgiving tradition is to go around the table and say one thing we are thankful for about each person and then what we are thankful for in general this year.

    Congratulations on all your happy pregnancy news. I’m so happy for you and can’t to find out what you’re having! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your beautiful new family!

  3. thanksgiving tradish’s are…i do no cooking!! it’s awesome b/c we go to my mom-in-law’s house and she cooks everything except dessert and caleb loves to bake so he makes those! pumpkin pie cake and pecan pies!

    and i ADORE gingersnaps!! and what’s ever weirder is that i HATE cheesecake! hmmm…must be the red hair…

Leave a Reply

