Identity Crisis


One of the biggest things I’ve learned over the years is that people want to be heard. Every human being, no matter what age – no matter how old we get – is looking for the same thing. What everybody wants is to know ‘Do you see me? Did you hear me and did what I say mean anything to you?’ That is what everybody is looking for. – Oprah Winfrey

I cannot get this statement out of my head.

I have seen countless articles about how this generation of teenagers and young adults is the most narcissistic generation to date. “Reality” TV is at the height of its popularity and Lawrence Fishburne’s daughter released her own adult video because, “I’m impatient about getting well-known and having more opportunities, and this seemed like a great way to get started on it.”

My heart is heavy this week as I think of the sadness behind the attention seeking behavior that we engage in, as an attempt to prove our own value and worth.

Of course, not everyone wants to be heard, seen or acknowledged for negative reasons. Some people want to share their story as a cautionary tale. Some have stories that can save the lives of others who can relate or who are experiencing similar things. Some people have valuable information to speak about, to share and to teach.

But I can’t shake this nagging feeling of sadness for the millions of people who seek the kind of love, attention and validation they can only get through the grace of Jesus Christ.

A real and genuine relationship with the Savior of the world will fulfill you in ways that the temporary attention of others will not.

I know from personal experience. I spent years chasing after temporary happiness that resulted in me being more miserable. It has only been through my pursuit of a relationship with Jesus Christ that true happiness and peace is beginning to settle into my life. My life is not perfect and it is not without struggle – but there is a genuine peace here that was not here before.

When life is tough (and it will be) you will start to wonder if anyone hears you or if anyone sees you. Know that your father in heaven DOES. Every decision you make, every thought you think matters to Him. He knows you, He loves you and He will fill you with a kind of love that will absolutely blow your mind.

The real revolution will not come from a television talk show or from people sharing their stories with Oprah. It will begin only when people open up their hearts to Jesus and make him the main character in their story.

2 thoughts on “Identity Crisis”

  1. Brava, Miranda! I am bookmarking this post to refer back to – because this is the essence of the very lesson I have learned in life thus far. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

