When I Grow Up


I know, I know. I AM grown up by most all standards. But sometimes I can’t help but feel a little bit miffed that I’m expected to know what I want to do/be/accomplish in my life ALREADY. I totally do not feel qualified to make these kinds of decisions for myself.

A lot of people refer to me as “free spirited” – so much so that it’s almost become a bit of a joke with me. People pick up on that about me almost immediately – and sometimes I am proud of the “free spirited” label. I’m sort of a map with no final destination and if you stop the train early, I’ll jump off and explore. I can find something interesting about almost everything.

It also means though, that I can’t narrow down THE thing. You know, THE thing that I should be doing with my life by now – at the ripe old age of 31. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the job I have now. I enjoy being in a Human Resources oriented job, working with people, training them and managing the day to day operations of the company. But if someone were to hand me $100,000 tonight and tell me to pick any program of study at any school ANYWHERE I’d probably die from complications due to severe and debilitating indecision.

Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE my life as the wife of a pastor of an amazing church, as the mom of an amazing son, as the stepmom of two amazing boys. These things fill me and inspire me and excite me.

But…

I’m in the process of working through what it means to have talents and gifts and figuring out how and where God wants me to use those. I hope that I’ll eventually get to the point of incorporating my career with my passion and talents – for those of you that are doing this, hats off to you my friends. I’m always in awe of how anyone makes that happen.

So dear friends, inspire me. What would you study – what business would you start – what career would you pursue if someone handed you a check for $100,000??

7 thoughts on “When I Grow Up”

  1. “I’d probably die from complications due to severe and debilitating indecision. ” I do believe that is the best sentence I have read all day. Were I drinking water, I quite possibly may have ruined my laptop.

    I’m kinda right there with you. I’m loving being a stay-at-home mom, and doing my photography, and design for fun, but when I sit and think about what I’m going to do when all 3 kids are in school I kind of panic!

    What am I going to do?!

  2. I’d go into missions. I know that sounds like the good little Christian answer…but our church is working on sending a team to China and I’m suddenly fascinated…
    I do know a lot of colleagues in my field have traveled overseas on professional mission work and combining the two would be pretty neat…

    Friend…I think you’re calling is to be the person you are…
    there are so many people out there who feel the way you do…
    some people are just made to just be in relationships. and i think you are one of those…you are so good at connecting with others….
    not everyone needs a ‘career’….does that make sense?
    love you miss you

  3. well, i had this friend that wanted to open an event business together that would have been a super great idea and $100,000 would have made it a lot easier…and no moving to MD… just saying

Leave a Reply

