In Every Season


Life is full of seasons.

For a person who is pretty free spirited, I am not huge on change. It seems like kind of an oxymoron but it’s true. I don’t let a lot of day to day stuff weigh me down, I go with the flow for the most part and it takes a lot to truly offend me.

But big changes in my life are harder for me to accept and embrace. A lot has changed in my life over the past year – and every single change has been good. Seriously – I have been showered with so many blessings over the past year it’s overwhelming.

But even when change is good – it’s still change, and it can still be hard. There used to be something in my life that I felt kept me connected to God in a big way. It was something I worked at and did often and enjoyed more than anything else. And that has taken a back seat to other things in my life recently and I started to realize that without it, I was feeling a little lost and empty.

I was contemplating all of this today as I was driving to work, and the song Desert Song by Hillsong United came on. The bridge of the song goes like this:

All of my life
In every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing
I have a reason to worship

As I sang along to the words, I realized this – sometimes the changes in our lives are good, sometimes the changes seem bad. But no matter what is happening, no matter how things are changing we still have a reason to praise and worship our God. Every season of our life brings about new opportunities, new avenues for growth, new ways to push ourselves and break free of the boxes we unknowingly squeeze ourselves into.

With change, God provides amazing opportunities for growth. With the changes in my life, God is stretching me to find new ways to connect to Him. It’s easy for me to be resistant to this – I already KNOW how I most easily connect with God. It’s a no brainer – it comes easily to me, it keeps me centered and fills my life with joy. But God knows that I can make my time with Him even better, even stronger and even MORE fulfilling.

I will continue to connect with God in the ways that come easily to me and make me happy – but I am interested to also see the new ways I learn to connect. I am excited to take a journey that is a little unknown, to push myself into unfamiliar areas and see what happens.

What about you? In what situations do you feel most connected to God? And how do you keep yourself from getting into a rut and being too comfortable?

Leave a Reply

