BEHOLD…


The boiled peanut.

I wanted to tell you guys all about the non vegetarian stuff I tried while I was in Charleston, but I kind of think this atrocity deserves its very own blog.

The boiled peanut…I’ve heard about since I moved down South about 6 years ago. Call me crazy, but something about a peanut that’s been boiled just doesn’t appeal to me and I’ve never had a desire to try one. But there we were, on our first day in Charleston – sitting at Hyman’s, at the very table where Martha Stewart herself sat and Todd was raving about them so despite their unseemly appearance, I braced myself and tried one.

It tasted about how it looked. Mushy. Clammy. Greyish Brownish. Oh yeah, it tasted greyish brownish.

I did a little research on these things. They came about in the 19th century and were originally referred to as “goober peas”. Wikipedia says the boil can go from four hours to SEVEN hours! Why does 7 hours of boiling anything sound like a good idea? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? In 2006, the governor of South Carolina signed a bill making boiled peanuts the official snack food of South Carolina. (I’m sure there’s a joke to be had here, but I’m keeping my lips sealed…)

Anyway, what can I say…I tried to give these little things a chance. I was hoping they’d be surprisingly delicious but I guess this Vermont bred girl just isn’t cut out for Southern cuisine. Sorry, Todd 😉

4 thoughts on “BEHOLD…”

  1. OH MY GOSH!!! i ADORE boiled peanuts! i even have paula dean’s recipe for them!!! and you know there’s a song right?

    Sitting by the roadside on a summer’s day
    Chatting with my mess-mates passing time away
    Lying in the shadows underneath the trees
    Goodness how delicious eating goober peas.

    Chorus:
    Peas, peas, peas, peas
    Eating goober peas
    Goodness how delicious
    Eating goober peas.

    When a horse-man passes, the soldiers have a rule
    To cry out their loudest, ‘Mister, where’s your mule?’
    But another custom, enchanting-er than these
    Is wearing out your grinders, eating goober peas.

    Chorus

    Just before the battle, the General hears a row
    He says ‘The Yanks are coming, I hear their rifles now.’
    He looks down the roadway and what d’you think he sees?
    The Georgia Militia cracking goober peas.

    Chorus

    I think my song has lasted just about enough.
    The subject’s interesting but the rhymes are mighty rough.
    I wish the war was over so free from rags and fleas
    We’d kiss our wives and sweethearts, say good-bye to goober peas.

    Chorus

  2. Blech!!! I don’t think I have ever even seen one. But after that picture, it’s safe to say, I’ll definitely never try one. Glad you survived it!

  3. LOL! “Mushy, clammy, greyish-brownish.” I totally felt like I was right there with you. They look disgusting. So glad you tasted one so I could read all about it.

Leave a Reply

