PHPWP-what???


I think I have a love/hate relationship with the world wide internets. It definitely leans waaay more toward love – but sometimes “Google-ing” can make a girl insane. It’s nice to have just about anything you could ever want right at your fingertips, literally. Email, chat, directions, dictionary, calculators, shopping, random information…you can even order pizza and buy groceries online.

In my wedding planning mode I have found a TON of fantastic ideas online. And as a super budget bride, most of these ideas have helped me stay really frugal and for that I’m extremely thankful. But I have also found a ton of other ideas that I don’t have time/money/energy for and sometimes I start to feel a bit inadequate.

In preparing myself to marry a pastor, I have also stumbled across some fantastic information online. There are a lot of resources out there on basically any subject you are interested in, and this is no exception. In my google frenzy, I stumbled across a culture and lingo previously unknown to me. Did you guys know that “PH” stands for Pastor Husband? And “PW” is used to describe a Pastor’s Wife. And don’t forget about “PK” which is obviously – a Pastor’s Kid.

Ok, these little abbreviations aren’t really a big deal. But I got so caught up in this whole new jackpot of information that I started to feel very, very unqualified to even BE a “PW”. Online you can find story after story after story about churches, pastors and their families. Some of them are good and uplifiting, hopeful and sweet. Some of them are heartbreaking, troubling, sad and discouraging.

I’d be lying through my teeth if I said I am not at least a little nervous about taking on this new role. I’d also be lying if I said the online blogs, stories and websites don’t overwhelm me. BUT, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t pretty excited and very grateful for the journey Todd and I are about to take together as “PH” and “PW”. Heh. 😉

On Tuesday night, I was fortunate enough to spend some time with a few of the other pastor’s wives from Next Level Church. These ladies are sweet, funny, real and completely down to earth and I consider myself very fortunate to be in such good company. It is really nice to be with women who support their husbands in ministry, who take their roles seriously (but not too seriously!) and who are just awesome, normal, regular girls. I think NLC is fortunate to have these ladies on their team and I admire each one of them for their uniqueness and their ability to juggle family, work, ministry and friendships.

1 thought on “PHPWP-what???”

  1. i think you are going to make a great PW!! you fit in quite well with the other PW’s we have at NLC! i’m blessed to know you all!

Leave a Reply

