And They Will Know Us by Our Love


I love this sentence. I love it so much, I actually tattooed it on my back – next to the tattoo I have that reads Hosanna, in Hebrew.

Interestingly enough, the inspiration for both of these tattoos came from 2 different songs – and about a year or so apart.

The Hosanna tattoo was inspired by the song, Hosanna (Christy Nockels or Brooke Fraser). This song immediately became an anthem to my world weary soul, giving me a sentence I try to pray almost daily. “Break my heart for what breaks Yours”

The other line comes from many different places, but it spoke to me from Christy Nockels’ song, “By Our Love”

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately. Being a witness of Jesus Christ is not even remotely easy, is it? It’s an all in kind of thing.

My fiance’s son posted this Brennan Manning quote on his Facebook page, “The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians, who acknowledge Jesus with their lips and walk out the door and deny him with their life style. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable”

Ouch. But yet, how many of us have heard something very similar come from the mouths of our doubtful friends?

And here’s the reality – just because I call myself a Christ Follower does not make me perfect. I am a sinner, I am full of fault and brokenness and mistakes, wrong steps and wrong decisions. I am HUMAN. Just like all Christians are. And the bottom line is that none of us are perfect. It’s the gospel of Jesus Christ that is perfect, not the people who follow Him.

But while this is reality, it does not give us a free pass to judge, to gossip, to not love one another like we are commanded to. So we attempt to marry the two – the desire to be like Christ, while fighting the very nature that makes us who we are.

Awhile ago, after a hiatus from anything remotely related to God, I started getting my feet wet again by attending church. And as soon as I got involved, got connected, and felt passionate about it – my life almost literally fell apart.

I struggled to stay afloat, but people, things, and problems kept getting in my way. Obstacles and choices I never thought I would be faced with literally seemed to drop into my lap out of nowhere. And I had to fight tooth and nail to make it through. It almost seemed as though I was playing bumper cars with Satan – and everytime I tried to veer past him, he came at me head on with full force – sending me flying backwards or careening into other people who were also trying to avoid him.

Sometimes I failed. Sometimes I succeeded. But I had people in my life that loved me unconditionally. People who hugged me and reassured me and encouraged me to move forward. And because of them, I began to know Jesus Christ and understand what it means to truly be a daughter of God.

So I remind myself that words, while wonderful, are not nearly as effective as loving. Words, while usually intelligent, are not as effective as tolerance, forgiveness and grace. And I continue to pray that God breaks my heart for what breaks His. I pray that He continues to show me how to love and care for His children, so that through me, others can begin to know Him.

2 thoughts on “And They Will Know Us by Our Love”

  1. that satan. he sucks. keep on keeping on girl.

    it’s so awesome that no matter how many times we mess up and fall away, God, the lover of our souls, woos us back with all He has.

    i too love the line from that song. if as Christians we could all keep that in front of us, what better examples we would make.

Leave a Reply

