Once Upon a Time…


Ok, if you’re thinking I’m about to get all mushy and romantical and bore you with details of my recent engagement and upcoming nuptials…well – you could be a LITTLE bit correct…

Sorry.

You ever finally, FINALLY get something in your life that you’ve been wanting for a really, really long time…and suddenly you feel a bit sheepish for how impatient you’d been along the way? People who really know me well will tell you that I am super impatient. I do everything fast, and I cause a little bit of chaos and disorganization as I go. I talk fast, I walk fast, I think fast, I text fast, I even type fast. I’m go go go and I don’t enjoy waiting AT ALL. I love immediate results. I love being connected with people all day long. So, I will admit that I’ve been bugging God to bring me a “nice man” for a long time. A LONG TIME. And here I sit, engaged (FINALLY) to one of the nicest, kindest, most Godly men I’ve ever met and I am a little embarrassed for getting kind of cranky and impatient with God.

Patience is tough – and it has been for me in waiting to find the right person to spend my life with. I watched a lot of my friends get engaged and married and start families. I watched both of my sisters (YOUNGER, I might add) get engaged and married. I had tense discussions with God bemoaning how humiliating it was to be the older, unmarried sister. But He had a plan for my life, and it is far greater and more amazing than I could have constructed myself. I have gotten so much out of my relationship, I feel like a spoiled child. Todd treats me almost as well as I would imagine Christ himself would. He has been my best friend, my confidant, my shoulder to cry on, my support and encourager, my teacher and he has loved me in a way I never understood until he came into my life.

He shows me every day what unconditional love, grace and forgiveness is. He is a constant reminder to me to love those in my life like we are commanded to. He does not sit in judgment of me or my mistakes, but instead counsels, forgives and advises me.

We are an unusual pair, no doubt about it. You might ask yourself how a free spirited, scatterbrained, slightly ADHD gal like myself would end up with an incredibly organized, analytical, Type A personality like Todd – and yet while we are opposite in many ways, we are alike in many others. From our initial “meeting” on Twitter, and then subsequently through Facebook – we have logged hours upon hours of endless conversation. He makes me laugh until my stomach hurts, turns the heat up in his house when I visit so I’m not cold, and even indulges me in sharing vegetarian meals.

Our relationship has not been trial free – both of us are single parents, and that in and of itself brings trials and tribulations to the table. We have weathered a lot in a short time with children, finances, unemployment (mine), re-employment (also mine), sickness, stress and a myriad of other every day issues. I am not blind to the understanding that marriage will be the most difficult journey of my life. But I do thank God every day for bringing me someone who will weather the storm with me, who will hold my hand and teach me new things.

We are planning a wedding in 3 months. My online countdown not so nicely shouted at me today that there are 86 DAYS UNTIL MY WEDDING. I am hoping if we get through the planning alive, we’ll be a little more prepared for life’s trials πŸ˜‰

We are grateful to all of you for your words of support, advice, encouragement and for just sharing our joy and happiness. The night of our engagement we were flooded with amazing amounts of love through Facebook, Twitter, text and email – I think we had to charge our Blackberry phones several times throughout the evening! We do not take any of that for granted and have been so blown away by your genuine happiness for what our future holds.

Now, enough of the serious stuff. How a girl with ADHD plans a wedding in 3 months will be far more entertaining than any of this. πŸ™‚ Perhaps I’ll keep you updated…

7 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time…”

  1. You have no idea who I am (prob a good thing) but I am a friend of Todds in CA. Just want 2 say congrats! Todd is one of my heroes & I deeply admire him! He is Christlike. I would be better if more like him! And if Todds is as wonderful as I know him to be, I can only imagine how more wonderful you are! Blessings and grace on you both! Karl

  2. You are so awesome! I love reading your blogs!

    While I haven’t met Todd, I know he is a wonderful man who God has truly blessed by putting YOU in his life. I can tell everyday that you are definitely blessed because Todd is in your life.

    You know… I think I know someone who makes wedding cakes if you are in need. πŸ˜‰ Don’t feel obligated, though. I’m sure there have been lots of offers for all kinds of things!

Leave a Reply

